

For Immediate Release

30 July 2007

MEDIA RELEASE

GT'S TO RACE FOR AUSTRALIAN TOURIST TROPHY TITLE AT SANDOWN

The inaugural Sandown GT Classic to be held in December will now take on added significance with the Board of CAMS approving the awarding of the Australian Tourist Trophy Title to the winners of the 2007 event.

The three-and-a-half hour race will round out the 2007 Australian GT Championship with plans for it to become and annual affair and the hallmark event of Grand Touring racing in Australia.

The Australian Tourist Trophy Title is steeped in tradition, being awarded to the winner of a single sports car race. It was first run and won in 1956 when motor racing legend Sir Stirling Moss took out the award at Albert Park driving a Maserati 300S. Other notable winners include greats such as David McKay (1958), Bib Stillwell (1961-62), Frank Matich (1964, 1966-68) and Ian 'Pete' Geoghegan (1965, 1977).

Whilst the Australian Tourist Trophy Title has not been awarded since 1979, Graeme Emerton from CAMS' Australian Motor Racing Commission says that the decision to resurrect the Title after nearly 30 years follows the lead taken in international motor sport circles and the quality and growth of the GT category in Australia.

"With our domestic GT Championship field consisting of marques such as Aston Martin, Lamborghini, Ferrari and Porsche, there are strong international links and synergies with the FIA GT Championship which also incorporates a Tourist Trophy Title for a single race each year," said Emerton.

Australian GT Championship Management and the organisers of the Sandown GT Classic are extremely proud that CAMS have honoured the Championship and the event by bestowing such a prestigious award to the winner, further adding to the Championship's stability and growth.

Coinciding with Round 10 of the Shannons National Racing Championships, the event will be held over four days (December 6-9) with a media day on the Thursday, followed by three days of on-track activity featuring five support categories to the Sandown GT Classic.



END

For further information please contact:

Chris Terpos, Communications Coordinator, CAMS Tel: (03) 9593 7777

Rachael Wagg, Australian GT Championship Tel: (03) 9387 7788 Email: <u>rachael@gtchampionship.com.au</u>

FOR MEDIA INFORMATION PURPOSES - NO REGULATORY VALUE